Duck Tales 2 – Remaster This!

Feature PicThis post hits a couple milestones for me.  Firstly, it’s the first playthrough I’ve done that’s a sequel to another playthrough I’ve done.  It kind of makes me look focused and organized, which is impressive considering I have ADOTS (Attention Deficit Ooh That’s Shiny).  Secondly, this is my first reader pick.  I don’t get too many suggestions, but when I do, I like to oblige.  Today’s suggestion comes to us from g1 Fox.over at ScrewAttack.

Fox

I’ll do it!  Despite your disregard of the English language.

I wasn’t originally going to play Duck Tales 2 because, well, I’ve never played it before.  I loved the crap out of the first one, but I never even touched the sequel.  I had my reasons.  By 1993, I was 2 years in on the SNES, and the stodgy ol’ NES was thrown to the wayside.  Also, Disney sequels, regardless of the medium, leave much to be desired.

But now’s the time to set my prejudices aside so I can give this game a proper playthrough.  It’s time to solve a mystery and rewrite history!  It’s time for some Duck Tales 2!  WOO-OO!

Box Art

Game: Duck Tales 2

Console: NES

Developer: Capcom

Publisher: Capcom

Release Year: 1993

What’s Duck Tales 2 all about?  This time around, Scrooge and the boys have discovered a piece of a treasure map said to show the location of a valuable treasure.  Naturally, this piques our beloved miser’s interest, and off he goes to collect a bunch of McGuffins in order to get a McGuffin!  God, I love video games!

Spit on my Spats

Spit on ’em!

So, again, Scrooge McDuck travels to exotic locales and recklessly endangers his nephews’ lives as he bludgeons all who stand in his way senseless.  All in the name of getting a little richer.  I guess being proclaimed the “richest duck in the world” during the last game’s conclusion wasn’t enough for the avian capitalist.  I tell you, that ol’ McDuck sure doesn’t know when to quit.

gifff

Leave him be.  He’ll eventually tire himself out and go down for a nap.

But it’s all for the best because this game kicks ass, though DT2 honestly doesn’t do much more than its predecessor: the graphics are identical and the mechanics – such as pogo-ing and golf swinging – are the same.  Also, the music from the first was far superior (Moon Theme, amirite?)  The game does add some new mechanics, like hooking and dragging objects with your cane and hooking and hanging from objects by your cane.  It’s not much, but it seems like an obvious function of a cane, and it adds variety to the platforming.  Seriously, I would have thought of hooking the cane on stuff before using it as a pogo stick, but I guess that’s why I’m not a video game programmer.

Video Game ProgrammerHow do you make things happen!?

Regardless of my programming ineptitude, I still would have known better than to “Ninja Gaiden” this game with shitty bird placement.  You know what I mean: making birds or bats appear mid-jump over a pit.  DT2 has a few instances of this tomfoolery.

Shitty Bird Placement

“Yeah, let’s put a bird right on the falling bridge.”  -Some asshole at Capcom, probably the same asshole who cancelled Mega Man Legends 3 and thought Rocket Raccoon was a good pick for Marvel vs. Capcom 3.

There’s also an instance where your trust is completely betrayed as you walk through a secret path only to find a secret hole of death.  I’d have been mad if it wasn’t so hilarious.

gif

Some things are best kept secret.  Like secret holes of death.

It’s all good, though.  The game does a lot of things right.  For example, remember how the first game had a level select screen, but ultimately it didn’t matter where you started?  DT2 brings it back, but this time picking your starting point is crucial.  Granted, it’s not game breaking if you start in the wrong spot, but it’ll save you time if you go in a certain order.  Why’s that?  Because this game has Gyro!  And If you find him, he’ll upgrade your cane to be more destructive, which in turn allows access to more hidden areas and secrets.

Gyro

Thanks, Gyro.  Because possession of destructive weapons is exactly what we want for our senior citizens.

Another great thing the sequel has over the original is you can actually do something with all that old coot’s money!  It seems love for the Almighty Dollar is inherited because Scrooge’s nephews want their share of the adventure’s loot, and, since it doesn’t look like the old duck’s kicking the bucket any time soon, the boys set up shop to siphon their senile uncle’s pockets.  The prices are criminal, but the items are useful: you can buy a cake to heal yourself, upgrades to increase your maximum life, and a piece of the map.  Wow, that’s dirty, kids.

Shop Screen - With Map

“What a dick move, Huey.  That’s my boy!”

The last great things about DT2 are its puzzles and secrets.  There are only two puzzles in the game, but they’re whoppers!  I actually had to pull up GameFAQs because I couldn’t figure them out.  My wife caught me and called me a pussy.  I deserved it.

Disappointed

“I was going to make fun of your penis size, but what’s the point…”

After looking at the answers, it became clear that the tools to figure them out yourself were present in the game.  I just missed them and got lazy, I guess.  But that wasn’t the only thing I couldn’t figure out.  Remember the map pieces?  Well, those are hidden throughout the game, and some of those bastards are hard to find.  On my first playthrough, I only found 4 of the 7, which caused me to miss the “best” ending.  After breaking down and checking GameFAQs, I found all the secrets in the game and was awarded the “best” ending: An extra static frame strewn in among the others with no fanfare.  Whoopie.

Good Ending

The “Best” Ending.  You’re welcome, Internet.

Oh, well.  It was worth at least playing through and seeing all there was to see in this game.  I had a blast with Duck Tales 2, and, to be honest, I actually like it better than the original Duck Tales on the NES.  DT2 does everything the original did but bigger and better: more levels, more secrets, a purpose for the money, character upgrades.  The only thing the first game had over its sequel was better music and Gizmo Duck.  I kind of feel that Capcom should have remastered this game instead of its predecessor, or they should combine the two into one cohesive package.  Now that would be sweet!  Go ahead and do that, Capcom.  You know, because you’re so well known for listening to your fans.

Comic

I’m just a little bitter.  And I hate Rocket Raccoon so much!

Thanks for your Playing!  And thanks to g1 Fox for his suggestion.  Without it, I may not have played such an awesome game!

Do you have a game you’d like me to riff?  From the obscure to the crap to the great, all games are welcome!  Leave your suggestions in the comments below!

I'm Rich

Leave a Reply

